You are here:  / Personnel / Meeting of reconstituted Hindi Advisory Committee held

Meeting of reconstituted Hindi Advisory Committee held

Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER), Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports, MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh presided over a meeting of the Hindi Advisory Committee reconstituted under the auspices of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions here today with the motive to promote the use of Hindi language in administration.

Chairing the meeting, Dr Jitendra Singh said that, in spite of government’s emphasis on increased use of Hindi in official work, still a lot needs to be done in this direction and this requires experimentation with new ideas and application of innovative strategies. Common colloquial Hindi used in routine conversation can be promoted to begin with, he added.

Dr Jitendra Singh said, DoPT is a nodal department of Government of India and therefore also responsible for evolving reforms and strategies for other Ministries and Departments. Stressing the need to promote the use of Hindi in regions like North-East and South India where it is not a common medium of language, Dr Jitendra Singh said that Hindi has the capacity to serve not only as a common medium of communication for whole country, but it also carries high stakes for youngsters who aspire for jobs in Corporate Sector and Multi-National Companies where knowledge of Hindi is given an additional weightage during selection.

As far as government working is concerned, Dr Jitendra Singh said that the approach should not be to impose Hindi, but to inspire to voluntarily adopt Hindi for larger interest of administration and ease of governance.

Among the newly appointed members of the Advisory Committee who attended the meeting were Members of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) Shri Ramnarayan Dudi and Shri Vasishta Narayan Singh, social activist Shri R. P. Singh, journalist Shri Naveen Kumar, Shri Dashrath Singh Rathore, Shri Suresh Tiwari, Swami Yajyanand Saraswati, Shri Raghvendra Dhira and Shri Abhishek Gupta. Also present were senior officers of Department of Personnel & Training (DoPT) and Department of Administrative Reforms & Public Grievances (DARPG).