You are here:  / Human Resource Development / Institutions of Higher Education in Andhra Pradesh & Telangana

Institutions of Higher Education in Andhra Pradesh & Telangana

The Ministry of Human Resource Development, Department of Higher Education has decided to establish one Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), National Institute of Technology (NIT), Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT), Central University (CU) and one Tribal University (TU) in the State of Andhra Pradesh. In the State of Telangana, one Tribal University (TU) has been decided to be established. This is in accordance with the 13th Schedule of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.

The Government of Andhra Pradesh and Government of Telangana have been requested by the Central Government for identification of land and physical infrastructure for starting of courses in these institutions.

The academic session can start after the approval of the Expenditure Finance Committee and the Cabinet for establishment of each institution. The admission process in IIMs, IIT, NIT and IISERs are mostly over therefore admission in current academic session is not possible. In the Union Budget 2014-15 token provision of Rs. 1 crore for each institution has been made for starting of preliminary activities like preparation of detailed project report.