You are here:  / Water Resources / Development of Rivers

Development of Rivers

Ministry of Environment & Forests have informed that the Central Government by a Notification dated 20.02.2009, has set up the ‘National Ganga River Basin Authority’ (NGRBA) under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister, for conservation of the river Ganga.

Further, for rivers other than Ganga, Centrally Sponsored Scheme of National River Conservation Plan (NRCP) is being implemented by the Central Government jointly with the State Governments on a cost-sharing basis. The pollution abatement works under NRCP presently cover identified polluted stretches of 40 major rivers in 121 towns spread over 19 States in the country.

The names of the rivers development of which is being undertaken by NRCP are: Godavari, Yamuna, Mandovi, Sabarmati, Mindhola, Damodar, Subarnarekha, Pennar, Bhadra, Tungabhadra, Cauvery, Tunga, Pamba, Betwa, Tapti, Wainganga, Mandakini, Narmada, Khan, Chambal, Beehar, Kshipra, Krishna, Panchganga, Tapi, Diphu & Dhansiri, Brahamini, Mahanadi, Satluj, Beas, Ghaggar, Rani Chu, Adyar, Cooum, Vaigai, Vennar, Tamrabarani, Musi, Gomti, and Mahananda.

Development of river Ganga is being implemented by National Ganga River Basin Authority, and a provision of Rs. 355 crore is envisaged in the financial year 2014-15. For development of rivers other than Ganga, a provision of Rs. 195.74 crore is envisaged in the financial year 2014-15 for implementation under National River Conservation Plan (NRCP). However, the subsequent river-wise allocation of funds under NRCP is to be done internally by Ministry of Environment & Forests.

This was stated by Union Minister of State for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.