You are here:  / Shipping / Travel & Tourism / Cruise Shipping Policy

Cruise Shipping Policy

The implementation of Cruise Shipping Policy has resulted in the growth of the cruise shipping sector in the country. The details of the cruise ships handled in Indian Major Ports is as under:

Port 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Chennai Port 5 3 6
Mumbai Port 41 37 47
Marmugoa Port 23 18 26
Cochin Port 41 34 40


The Government has taken the following steps to promote cruise and coastal tourism in the country:

(i)       Ministry of Tourism under its Scheme for Assistance to Central Agencies extends financial assistance to the Ports and Lighthouses for development of cruise related Tourism Infrastructure. The Assistance is extended for smooth operation of cruise liners that call on Indian Ports and also for up-gradation of existing cruise passenger terminals.

(ii)      Ministry of Tourism has identified theme based circuits under recently launched Swadesh Darshan Scheme to promote tourism in the country.   One of the circuits identified is “Coastal Circuit” for development of coastal tourism infrastructure in the country, which will result in development of cruise tourism.

(iii)     To promote lighthouses as unique tourism destinations, some lighthouses have been identified for development by Ministry of Shipping. Out of these, two projects at Chennai and Mahabalipuram have been completed.

(iv)     Foreign flag vessels carrying passengers have been allowed to call at Indian ports for a period of 10 years with effect from 6th February, 2009 without obtaining a licence from Director General of Shipping.

This information was given by Minister of State for Shipping, Shri Pon Radhakrishnan in a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha