You are here:  / Human Resource Development / Committee for Evolution of a National Education Policy submits report to Ministry of HRD

Committee for Evolution of a National Education Policy submits report to Ministry of HRD

The Committee for the evolution of a National Education Policy has submitted the report containing its recommendations to the Ministry of HRD. The Union Minister for Human Resource Development thanked the Chairman and all members of the Committee for their commitment and efforts.

The Committee has examined the large body of outcome documents, recommendations and suggestions received from the various consultations. The Committee also had several meetings with various stakeholders and held regional consultations as well as undertaken field visits to educational institutions.

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India had undertaken a consultation process for framing a New Education Policy (NEP). The process included online, grassroots and national level thematic deliberations on 33 themes.

The online consultations on  portal were held from 26th January, 2015 to 31st October, 2015 and over 29,000 suggestions were received.  The bottom-up consultative process across nearly all Gram Panchayats, Blocks, Urban Local Bodies and districts of all 36 States/Union Territories was undertaken between May to October, 2015. Thematic consultations were conducted both by the Ministry and also by the institutions like University Grants Commission, All India Council for Technical Education, National Council for Teacher Education, National Council for Educational Research and Training and several centrally funded universities and institutions, autonomous bodies, attached offices. Also, all relevant stakeholders including experts, academics, industry representatives, civil society etc. were invited for deliberations  on the individual themes during July-October, 2015. Six zonal meetings were held by the Minister of Human Resource Development in Eastern, Central, North-Eastern, Western, Southern and Northern Zones covering all States and UTs in September-October 2015.

The Government of India had constituted a Committee for Evolution of the New Education Policy, which comprised Shri T.S.R. Subramanian, former Cabinet Secretary as the Chairman and Smt. Shailaja Chandra, former Chief Secretary, NCT of Delhi, Shri Sevaram Sharma, former Home Secretary, NCT of Delhi, Shri Sudhir Mankad, former Chief Secretary, Gujarat & Prof. J.S. Rajput, former Director, NCERT as members of the Committee.